Upcoming classes in August and September

If you’re interested in learning something new, I have several classes (both old and new) available to take in Toronto at Beadfx, in St. Catharines at Craft Arts Market and at the Grand River Bead Society Show and Sale.

First up, next weekend August 28 and 29 at Beadfx, I’ll be hosting an Open Metal Studio on Friday night from 5 – 8 pm. For $20 you get full use of all the tools in the studio and my support and expertise. Start a new project or work on a UFO. We always have fun.

On Saturday I’m reprising two of my most popular classes: foldforming and twisted, forged bronze bracelets. Both involve lots of fire and hammering and give you lots of satisfaction, plus a beautiful piece of jewellery (or two) to wear home. Check out class details at beadfx.com or call the store at 416-751-1911 or toll free at 1-877-473-2323 to reserve your spot for any class.

And speaking of Beadfx, don’t forget to come out on Saturday, September 12 for goodies, prizes, the launch of Marilyn Gardiner’s book and the opportunity to preview all of my (and other teachers’) classes set for this fall.

In September, I’m teaching four classes here in St. Catharines at Craft Arts Market on James Street. On September 19 join me from 10 – noon and create a lovely charm bracelet while learning basic and wrapped loops, design basics and finishing techniques. From 2 – 4 pm I’ll be sharing my Infinity Bracelet pattern as well as how to make small charms on the amazing Now That’s A Jig!

Also at CAM on Saturday, Sepember 26, from 10 – 12, I’ll be sharing a new class I’m calling Barrel of Monkey Pearls Necklace. Fun and elegant and you’ll learn basic wire wrapping skills. In the afternoon from 2 – 5 I’m teaching my bead embroidery class. Call the store at 905-684-1333 or register online at craftartsmarket.ca. Classes are typically $50 and include kit costs.

The very next day, on Sunday, September 27, I’ll be at the Grand River Bead Society Show and Sale where I’ll debut a new leather cuff class that uses the Big Kick and Sizzix dies and incorporates riveting. That’s in the afternoon from 2 – 4:30. In the morning it’s your chance to learn how to frame a treasure with unique bead embroidery. Details will be on their web site at grandriverbeadsociety.com.

Finally, before I leave for an exciting artist’s retreat in the South of France on October 6, I’ll be presiding over an Open Metal Studio on Friday, October 2 at Beadfx. Then on Saturday, I’m offering two NEW enamelling classes. In the morning, I’ll be exploring new and special effects you can achieve using different inclusions in your work. In the afternoon, I’ll debut the class many people have been waiting and asking for – flame enamelling.

Sign up early, as many of my classes tend to sell out quickly. Most have a cap of eight students.  I’m excited about the Fall and I hope you join me to learn a new technique and perhaps start gift making for the upcoming holiday season.  I’ll post my end of October and November teaching schedule in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

