Dazzle-It! Tropical Punch Blog Hop

I am pleased to be part of my first blog hop and welcome you to my space. My blogs often show a step-by-step review of my creative process and this one is no different. 

When creating, I usually start with a pile of components that have some cohesiveness in colour but have a variety of textures, sizes and material. Inspiration can come at the strangest times, however, and this time was no exception. I’d been meditating on the hot, Brazilian Carnival colour of the beads I received and thought of the costumes that are worn in Carnival parades that reveal much but strategically cover important bits. One morning last week I woke up after seeing a net of these jewels in my mind and I knew that I would use the French knitter to showcase the beads. I also wanted to create a necklace that would be evocative of the sinuous vines that wind around trees in the jungle. 

 

French knitting in progress

  

Using Tropical Punch components in the French knitter

 

As you can see, above, the beads came through on the inside of the knitting but I popped them to the outside afterwards (see detail below). This is 26 gauge copper wire. 

 

Close up of knitting and beads popped to stand up on outside of wire

 
I put 16 gauge copper wire down the centre of the tubing, so I would be able to shape it and have it hold that shape. The wire ends were paddled on my bench block so I could punch a hole in them and affix the yellow lucite flower to one end and the green flower to the other. The green flower’s petals are wired through a central component. 

 

This photo is a bit dark but you can see the paddled wire ends


I pulled the French knitted wire piece over the wired tubing and belled out the ends into a trumpet shape. I then shaped the tube-covered 16 gauge wire  to sit around the neck and affixed the flowers to each end. 

This Tropical Punch creation will add fashion fun to any sexy summer neckline. 

 

Net of Jewels

  

Wear it any way you want!

 

5 responses to “Dazzle-It! Tropical Punch Blog Hop

  1. V fun design Cindy! Showcases the beads beautifully. I could see someone wearing this to the Carribean Festival in Toronto in August!

  2. Wow!! This is so gorgeous, Cindy!! Amazing job.

  3. Wow, Cindy!! This is fantastic!!

  4. So so AWESOME!!!

  5. so innovative !! beautifully created!

Leave a Reply

