Colour me 

Recently, I have seen articles about adult colouring books and how calming they are. There is something soothing about the action of colouring and there’s definitely something comforting about the act as you relive your carefree childhood colouring fun. 

Last year, in a class with Gail Crosman-Moore on colouring metals, she touched on using pencil crayons on metal but we didn’t get to really go into it. But my curiosity was piqued, so I decided to do more reading online then experimenting to see what kind of results I might get. 

I’ve been excited about my results and want to share with you. I taught this last night at TBS techniques night because I think it’s a great way to create custom components for your jewellery creations. 

I start with metal stampings with shape and depth. To prepare them, I take some medium grit sandpaper and sand each piece to create a “tooth” on the metal for the gesso. Clean and dry the metal before brushing on a light coat of gesso. I do this about three times to get good coverage. Now you have a blank canvas to work on. 

Using Prismacolor pencil crayons (they have a high wax content), colour your metal as you like. Then use mineral spirits or turpentine on a brush to blend your colours. You’ll find the pencil crayon lines begin to melt and blend and you get a very painterly effect. I continue to colour and build up depth using various pressures on the pencil then blending with the brush and mineral spirits. When I’m happy with the piece I make sure the mineral spirits have fully evaporated then seal the piece with Mod Podge or Diamond Glaze. 

   

 

Your custom coloured component is now ready to be incorporated into your jewellery. Try this technique. I guarantee fun and a unique talking piece to wear. 

One response to “Colour me 

  1. I want to try this!

Leave a Reply

